Home

Ardbeg-10-2

Enjoy. You lucky so-and-so’s.

That’s what I just wrote in a card that goes along with what will assuredly be the greatest present my friends Emily and Steve will be getting at their wedding today: a bottle of Ardbeg 10. Okay, not assuredly. They might be given a trip to France or something. a winnign lottery ticket. Actually, not assuredly at all… girls are always giving each other present that make each other cry after all… and maybe a pregnancy will preclude the enjoyment of the bottle… gasp! The horror! 😉

But this a whisky review blog and this the Ardbeg 10, so for the sake of this blog and this post, THIS IS THE WEDDING GREATEST GIFT EVER.

Also in said card I transcribed Jim Murray‘s 97 score review from his Whisky Bible. I could literally transcribe it here, as it’s such a perfectly eloquent statement, but I won’t. I’ll give you my impression and an idea of why my wife I decided on such a gift for our friends.

They said they liked peat. Of course we had a budget, some vague ideas of what to get them, but things had disappeared from their registries in record time and my wife and I aren’t “registry gift givers”, if you know what I mean. We like to go outside the box, we like to give things that scream “Denis and Juliette”, and nothing says that like, well… booze. And they said they liked peat. The moment the word peat came into play, there was really only one option. Well, two actually. The Laphroaig Quarter Cask was briefly in the running, but then we thought: what would we like to receive? What, in the world of peatiness (available here, of course), would make us go “Oooooo!” gleefully upon opening a box? What whisky is… that little bit special (without breaking the bank)? There was really only one answer. Actually, I think that’s pretty much what I told my wife: “In that case, there’s only one thing we can get them: the Ardbeg 10. Otherwise, what kind of friends would  we be?”

Duh.

While it’s not quite as potent and showy as the Corryvreckan, is still has all those powerfully Ardbeggian notes of peat and smoke and flavour. But subtlety too. Where the Corryvreckan needs to be tamed with a bit more water, the Ardbeg will open up and greet you with a smile with barely a drop. And to top it all off, we realised that if you’re going to drink a fine dram like this one, you have to do it in the proper glass — it would be unconscionable to think of our friend sipping from – gasp – tumblers! If we were to gift some of the finest whisky in the world (97 out of 100 from Murray) and not provide the appropriate vehicle for its consumption… well, what kind of bastards would we be? Hence a twins et of Glencairn Glasses. Some people think they’re a gimmick, but a lot of whisky drinkers – my wife and I obviosuly included – swear by them. I mean, when your dram has such a full-bodied fragrance as the Ardbeg 10, you want to stick your schnoz in there and suck it all up before that first, initial taste. That peat, that citrus, that smoke and that salt… and the Glencairn gathers it all up there at the top for you. Roll it around, looking at the deep golden hue… Tip it back, one lip of the glass to yours, the other at your nose to get the full experience… Fwoooohhhh… I better stop before I rip open the box and drink it myself (at10:30 am), because to repeat myself: for a rather potent whisky, it is imminently drinkable stuff. Too drinkable. Lucky so-andso’s indeed… I guess I’ll have to go get my own bottle. (I could gift and/or recommend a bottle without having one myself! ahem…)

They said they liked peat. Well, we’re about to find out how true that is.

To you, Steve and Emily! Slàinte!

Let 'er rip!

